Push Carts & Electric Caddies

Bag Boy Nitron vs Bag Boy Volt

Get the Bag Boy Nitron.

Entry A2026
Bag Boy

Bag Boy Nitron

Check price · TGW
Affiliate link — we may earn a commission
List price
$319.95
Weight
16.7 lbs
Folded
19 × 13.5 × 22 in
Bag Boy Nitron full specs →
Entry B2026
Bag Boy

Bag Boy Volt

List price
$1,495.95
Weight
29.9 lbs (battery not specified)
Folded
29 × 16.5 × 14.5 in
Bag Boy Volt full specs →

Par and Peg may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. More info.

The Specifications

Manufacturer data
Bag Boy NitronBag Boy Volt
Price (MSRP)$319.95Lower price$1,495.95
TypePush CartElectric Caddy
Wheels33
Weight16.7 lbsLighter29.9 lbs (battery not specified)
Weight (with battery)None (push cart)Not published
Folded size19 × 13.5 × 22 in29 × 16.5 × 14.5 in
Folded volume3.3 cu ftFolds smaller4 cu ft
Open sizeNot publishedNot published
Foldauto-open (Nitro-Piston)two-step open/fold
Brakehandle-mounted parking brakeNot published
Swivel front wheelNot publishedNot published
Bag retentionTop-LokTop-Lok
Umbrella holder includedYesYes
Cup holder includedYesYes
Storage consoleYesYes
Seat includedNot publishedNot published
MotorNone (push cart)Not published
BatteryNone (push cart)24v 299w lithium battery
Battery rangeNone (push cart)36 holes
Remote controlNone (push cart)Yes
Follow modeNone (push cart)Not published
Downhill controlNone (push cart)Not published
Built-in GPSNone (push cart)Not published
GPS screenNone (push cart)Not published
Warranty2-year limited warranty1-year limited warranty
Bag Boy Nitron
Bag Boy Volt

Affiliate links coming soon.

PAR AND PEG · EST 2026· HEAD TO HEAD · GOLF TECH ·
· The verdict ·

Get the Bag Boy Nitron.

Bag Boy Nitron
Check price · TGW

The Quick Verdict

Get the Bag Boy Nitron. At $319.95 list versus $1,495.95 for the Volt, the Nitron costs $1,176 less, folds smaller, weighs less by any measure, and comes with a two-year warranty — a year longer than the Volt's. The Volt makes sense if your course is relentlessly hilly, your back or shoulder objects to pushing, or you're regularly playing 36-hole days and want a remote caddy doing the work. For everyone else, the Nitron is the cart.

Bag Boy Nitron
Check current price at TGW
Bag Boy Volt
Direct retailer link coming soon

What They Have in Common

Both are Bag Boy carts with three wheels, Top-Lok bag attachment, an umbrella holder, a cup holder, and a storage console — all included. Both use a two-step or gas-piston fold mechanism and each has a magnetic accessory plate. You're getting the same bag-attachment system and roughly the same accessory loadout on either cart.

Where They Differ

Price and warranty

The Nitron lists at $319.95. The Volt lists at $1,495.95. That's a $1,176 gap at list — a real number, not a rounding. The Nitron also carries a two-year limited warranty; the Volt covers you for one year. On a cart with a battery, a motor, and remote electronics, a shorter warranty is worth noticing.

Folded size and weight

The Nitron folds to 19 × 13.5 × 22 inches — 3.3 cubic feet. The Volt folds to 29 × 16.5 × 14.5 inches — 4 cubic feet. The Nitron folds smaller by 0.7 cubic feet, and its longest single dimension is 22 inches versus 29 on the Volt. That's a 7-inch difference in the longest dimension: a 22-inch cart can go places a 29-inch cart can't.

The Nitron weighs 16.7 lbs — the whole cart. The Volt is listed at 29.9 lbs, and Bag Boy doesn't say whether that figure includes the battery. A battery only adds weight, so the Nitron is lighter however you read that number. There's no specific gap to give you, but there's no scenario where lifting the Volt is easier.

The fold itself

The Nitron uses an auto-open mechanism: a Nitro-Piston — Bag Boy's name for a gas piston — unfolds the cart. The Volt uses a two-step open and fold. Both descriptions come from Bag Boy; how each feels in practice isn't something a spec sheet can tell you.

What the Volt does that the Nitron can't

The Volt is a powered cart with a remote control, nine speed levels, and a course-correction feature Bag Boy calls TrueLine. Bag Boy rates the 24v 299w lithium battery for up to 36 holes — two rounds without a charge. It also has an extendable fourth wheel and can convert to a manual push cart if you want to push it instead.

Bag Boy doesn't publish the motor's power output, and it prints the battery as "24v 299w". That's their spec, not ours. The remote-control feature includes a lock, and there's a predetermined-distance setting of 5–30 yards.

None of that matters if you're happy pushing and your course isn't punishing. It matters a fair amount if you're not.

Who Should Buy Which

Get the Bag Boy Nitron if:

  • You walk most rounds and are fine pushing — this is a push cart with nothing to charge.
  • Trunk space is tight: a 22-inch longest dimension fits where a 29-inch one won't.
  • You want two years of warranty coverage.
  • You're not ready to spend $1,495.95 list on a cart with a one-year warranty and some unpublished specs.
  • You play 18-hole rounds without a nagging back or shoulder telling you otherwise.

Get the Bag Boy Volt if:

  • Your course has significant elevation change and pushing uphill is genuinely wearing on you.
  • You regularly play 36 holes in a day and want a cart Bag Boy rates for up to 36 holes on a charge.
  • A remote caddy is something you actually want — TrueLine course correction and nine speed levels come with it.
  • You already own a compatible Bag Boy bag and want the Top-Lok system on a powered platform.

The Bottom Line

The Nitron is the default here. It's lighter, folds smaller, carries a longer warranty, and lists $1,176 less. The auto-open piston, Top-Lok retention, included umbrella holder, and scorecard console are all in the box. The Volt is a real powered cart with remote control and a 36-hole battery rating — if you need it, you know why. But "need it" is doing a lot of work at that price gap. For most rounds, on most courses, the Nitron is the answer.

Get the Bag Boy Nitron.

· At a glance ·

Strengths & Weaknesses

Bag Boy Nitron
Strengths
  • Auto-open: a gas piston unfolds it
  • Folds to 19 × 13.5 × 22 in
  • Umbrella holder and a large accessory bag included
  • Top-Lok locks a compatible Bag Boy bag to the cart
Weaknesses
  • Three USA-themed colourways list $20 more than the standard colours
  • Bag Boy publishes no open dimensions
Bag Boy Volt
Strengths
  • Remote control with nine speed levels and course correction
  • Converts to a manual push cart
  • Up to 36 holes
  • Top-Lok bag attachment; umbrella holder and accessory bag included
Weaknesses
  • 1-year warranty
  • Bag Boy prints the battery as "24v 299w" and states no motor power
  • Bag Boy doesn't say whether 29.9 lbs includes the battery
· Frequently asked ·

Common questions

Which is better, the Bag Boy Nitron or the Bag Boy Volt?
The Nitron is the default here. It's lighter, folds smaller, carries a longer warranty, and lists $1,176 less. The auto-open piston, Top-Lok retention, included umbrella holder, and scorecard console are all in the box.
Is the Bag Boy Volt worth it over a push cart like the Bag Boy Nitron?
They solve different problems. The Bag Boy Nitron is a push cart that lists at $319.95; the Bag Boy Volt is powered and lists at $1,495.95. A push cart is lighter, simpler and has nothing to charge. A powered caddy carries the bag for you, which matters most on a hilly course or over 36 holes. The spec table above shows what each one weighs and how it folds.
Will the Bag Boy Nitron or the Bag Boy Volt fit in my trunk?
Measure your trunk against the folded sizes. The Bag Boy Nitron folds to 19 × 13.5 × 22 in and the Bag Boy Volt to 29 × 16.5 × 14.5 in, as published by each maker. The longest of the three dimensions is usually the one that decides it.

Best Prices

Entry ABag Boy Nitron
Entry BBag Boy Volt

Affiliate links coming soon.