Push Carts & Electric Caddies

Bag Boy Nitron Swivel vs Bag Boy Volt

Get the Bag Boy Nitron Swivel.

Entry A2026
Bag Boy

Bag Boy Nitron Swivel

Check price · TGW
Affiliate link — we may earn a commission
List price
$359.95
Weight
18.5 lbs
Folded
18.7 × 13 × 22 in
Bag Boy Nitron Swivel full specs →
Entry B2026
Bag Boy

Bag Boy Volt

List price
$1,495.95
Weight
29.9 lbs (battery not specified)
Folded
29 × 16.5 × 14.5 in
Bag Boy Volt full specs →

Par and Peg may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. More info.

The Specifications

Manufacturer data
Bag Boy Nitron SwivelBag Boy Volt
Price (MSRP)$359.95Lower price$1,495.95
TypePush CartElectric Caddy
Wheels33
Weight18.5 lbsLighter29.9 lbs (battery not specified)
Weight (with battery)None (push cart)Not published
Folded size18.7 × 13 × 22 in29 × 16.5 × 14.5 in
Folded volume3.1 cu ftFolds smaller4 cu ft
Open sizeNot publishedNot published
Foldauto-open (Nitro-Piston), one steptwo-step open/fold
Brakedual rear brake system, locks both back wheelsNot published
Swivel front wheelYesNot published
Bag retentionTop-LokTop-Lok
Umbrella holder includedNot publishedYes
Cup holder includedYesYes
Storage consoleYesYes
Seat includedNot publishedNot published
MotorNone (push cart)Not published
BatteryNone (push cart)24v 299w lithium battery
Battery rangeNone (push cart)36 holes
Remote controlNone (push cart)Yes
Follow modeNone (push cart)Not published
Downhill controlNone (push cart)Not published
Built-in GPSNone (push cart)Not published
GPS screenNone (push cart)Not published
Warranty2-year limited warranty1-year limited warranty
Bag Boy Nitron Swivel
Bag Boy Volt

Affiliate links coming soon.

PAR AND PEG · EST 2026· HEAD TO HEAD · GOLF TECH ·
· The verdict ·

Get the Bag Boy Nitron Swivel.

Bag Boy Nitron Swivel
Check price · TGW
Bag Boy Nitron Swivel

The Quick Verdict

Get the Bag Boy Nitron Swivel. It lists at $359.95, folds to 3.1 cubic feet, and has nothing to charge. The Volt costs $1,136 more at list, carries a shorter warranty, and Bag Boy doesn't even publish its motor specs. That extra spend makes sense if your course is genuinely hilly, your back or shoulder objects to pushing, or you're regularly playing 36 holes back-to-back — but those are specific situations, not the default.

Bag Boy Nitron Swivel
Check current price at TGW
Bag Boy Volt
Direct retailer link coming soon

What They Have in Common

Both are three-wheelers with Top-Lok bag attachment, a cup holder, and a storage console. Both fold. Both are from the same brand and carry at least a portion of their bag-retention approach in common. That's about where the similarities end.

Where They Differ

Size and weight

The Nitron Swivel folds to 18.7 × 13 × 22 inches — 3.1 cubic feet. The Volt folds to 29 × 16.5 × 14.5 inches — 4 cubic feet. That 0.9 cubic foot gap isn't enormous on paper, but the longest single dimension tells the real story: 22 inches vs. 29 inches. If you're measuring trunk clearance, that's the number to check. The Volt's longest side runs 7 inches past the Nitron Swivel's.

On weight: the Nitron Swivel is 18.5 lbs, and that's the whole cart. The Volt prints at 29.9 lbs, and Bag Boy doesn't say whether that includes the battery. A battery only adds weight, so the Nitron Swivel is lighter however you read the other number — just don't ask me to put a gap figure on it.

How they open and push (or drive)

The Nitron Swivel uses a Nitro-Piston auto-open — Bag Boy's description is one step. The Volt is a two-step fold. The Nitron's front wheel does a full 360° swivel and can be locked; the Volt's front wheel setup isn't published. The Nitron also has a dual rear brake that locks both back wheels. The Volt lists no brake spec at all.

What the Volt has that the Nitron doesn't is a remote. Nine speed levels, a Bag Boy feature called TrueLine course correction, and a predetermined-distance setting of 5–30 yards. It also converts to a manual push cart if you want to push. Those features don't come cheap, and they come on a one-year warranty.

Battery, motor, and warranty

The Volt runs a 24v 299w lithium battery rated by Bag Boy for up to 36 holes — two rounds on one charge. Bag Boy doesn't publish the motor's power output, so there's not much more to say there. The Nitron has nothing to charge.

Warranty gap is real: the Nitron Swivel comes with a two-year limited warranty; the Volt covers just one year. On a $1,495.95 cart, that's worth noticing.

What's in the box

The Volt includes an umbrella holder. The Nitron's page mentions integrated umbrella storage, but Bag Boy does not list an umbrella holder as included. Both include a cup holder and storage console.

Who Should Buy Which

Get the Bag Boy Nitron Swivel if:

  • You're walking a flat-to-moderate course and just want a cart that folds small and opens in one step
  • Trunk space is at a premium — 22 inches is the longest dimension you're fitting in
  • You'd rather spend $359.95 and pocket the difference
  • A two-year warranty matters to you

Get the Bag Boy Volt if:

  • Your course has enough elevation that 18 holes of pushing genuinely wears on you
  • You've got a shoulder or back situation that makes pushing a bad idea
  • You're regularly playing 36 holes and want the cart to do the walking
  • You understand you're getting one year of warranty coverage on a $1,495.95 piece of kit

The Bottom Line

The Nitron Swivel is the right call for most walking golfers. It's lighter, folds smaller, has a longer warranty, and lists for $1,136 less. The Volt earns its price if you actually need remote-controlled distance — hilly courses, physical limitations, or regular 36-hole days. If none of those describe you, you're paying a lot for a motor you won't use.

Get the Bag Boy Nitron Swivel.

Bag Boy Nitron Swivel
· At a glance ·

Strengths & Weaknesses

Bag Boy Nitron Swivel
Strengths
  • 360° swivel front wheel that can be locked
  • Brake locks both rear wheels
  • Auto-open fold, to 18.7 × 13 × 22 in
Weaknesses
  • 18.5 lbs
  • Bag Boy's page mentions umbrella storage but, unlike the Nitron's, no included umbrella holder
Bag Boy Volt
Strengths
  • Remote control with nine speed levels and course correction
  • Converts to a manual push cart
  • Up to 36 holes
  • Top-Lok bag attachment; umbrella holder and accessory bag included
Weaknesses
  • 1-year warranty
  • Bag Boy prints the battery as "24v 299w" and states no motor power
  • Bag Boy doesn't say whether 29.9 lbs includes the battery
· Frequently asked ·

Common questions

Which is better, the Bag Boy Nitron Swivel or the Bag Boy Volt?
The Nitron Swivel is the right call for most walking golfers. It's lighter, folds smaller, has a longer warranty, and lists for $1,136 less. The Volt earns its price if you actually need remote-controlled distance — hilly courses, physical limitations, or regular 36-hole days.
Is the Bag Boy Volt worth it over a push cart like the Bag Boy Nitron Swivel?
They solve different problems. The Bag Boy Nitron Swivel is a push cart that lists at $359.95; the Bag Boy Volt is powered and lists at $1,495.95. A push cart is lighter, simpler and has nothing to charge. A powered caddy carries the bag for you, which matters most on a hilly course or over 36 holes. The spec table above shows what each one weighs and how it folds.
Will the Bag Boy Nitron Swivel or the Bag Boy Volt fit in my trunk?
Measure your trunk against the folded sizes. The Bag Boy Nitron Swivel folds to 18.7 × 13 × 22 in and the Bag Boy Volt to 29 × 16.5 × 14.5 in, as published by each maker. The longest of the three dimensions is usually the one that decides it.

Best Prices

Entry ABag Boy Nitron Swivel
Entry BBag Boy Volt

Affiliate links coming soon.